AN EVENING IN KRAKOW, SACRED AND PROFANE

AN EVENING IN KRAKOW, SACRED AND PROFANE

Just a quick note with a few photos. I went to the 6:30 mass at St, Mary’s Basilica this evening and was happy I got there when I did – a few more minutes and I’d have had to stand for Mass! The church was packed. I gathered the faithful knew more than I did cause when the procession began, there were 10 priests and a bishop.

The Mass was so very beautiful – the Polish faithful so recollect and reverent that in the moments of silence you literally could have heard a pin drop. The music was wonderful – as if the entire community was one big choir, so lovely and harmonious and heartfelt was the singing.

I never did discover who the bishop was but at the end of Mass he brought out a lovely reliquary and explained what it was to great applause. After Mass I went up to a priest I felt I knew to ask about the reliquary and it turned out to be a friend I’d not seen in a few years – Fr. Darius, a former secretary to Cardinal Dziwisz.  We spoke briefly and then he had to accompany the bishop to a residence. I found out it was a relic of the True Cross! I’ll learn more tomorrow when I visit Fr. Darius in his office.

I took some photos of St. Mary’s at the end of Mass and afterwards – after my conversation with Fr. Darius – strolled around Market Square. All I could think of, for some reason, was the difference between….

The Sacred –

….and the profane

