HAPPY EASTER OF THE RESURRECTION!

HAPPY EASTER OF THE RESURRECTION!

Three years ago, at an art exhibit at Castel Sant’Angelo entitled Cammino di Pietro (The Path of Peter), I had a very beautiful personal moment when I finally saw one of the paintings I most love in the world, Eugène Burnand’s “Peter and John Run to the Tomb at Dawn.”

Peter and John running to the tomb

It always leaves me breathless! I want to say to Peter and John, “Wait for me!”
Look at those faces – the hope, the uncertainty, expressions that want to believe the resurrection, expressions that say, “Please, Lord, let it be true!”

And their hands – hands that are filled with hope as well.

When I saw this painting for the first time, I felt I knew these Apostles. I was looking at the images of St. Peter and St. John that my mind’s eye had created a long time ago, as child.

Will we look like this someday as we await the Resurrection?!

 

