HAPPY 100TH BIRTHDAY, CARDINAL CAPOVILLA!

HAPPY 100TH BIRTHDAY, CARDINAL CAPOVILLA!

Today marks the 100th birthday of Cardinal Loris Capovilla, former secretary to Cardinal Angelo Roncalli when he was archbishop of Venice and later, in 1958, elected to the See of Peter, talking the name John XXIII. He is now, of course, St. John XXIII.

I visited Cardinal Capovilla (and wrote about it on my blog) on March 19 last year, 18 days after he received the red hat in Sotto il Monte, not far from Bergamo in northern Italy, where he lives. This was just weeks before his former “boss” would be canonized, together with John Paul II! Here are some photos from that wonderful visit. I was with my new friend Mimma Forlani who is from Bergamo and had written a book about Pope John XXIII.

IMG_2007

IMG_2009

Signing a book of his for me –

IMG_2011

IMG_2020

At one point, I asked Cardinal Capovilla if I could record two special questions I had for him on my iPad. First, I asked him to imagine what John XXIII would say about the much-changed world we live in today. I then noted how “Good” Pope John loved children, asking what he might say if there were 20 children in the room, instead of the three of us. We spoke only in Italian, so I’m afraid that might limit the audience for this video but it is just sheer fun to watch his amazing energy at 98 and a half!

 

 

 

